Skip to content

New NSBS Council members elected

|Written By Gail J. Cohen

Lawyers in Nova Scotia elected eight Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society Council members March 16 in district elections — the first of its two-part election process. The eight will begin their two-year terms following the NSBS Annual Meeting June 13.

Three at-large members will be elected from across the province in a vote April 20 to 27. At-large nominations are currently open until April 7.

The NSBS provided the following list of winners in the district elections. The two seats in the southwestern district were acclaimed as there were only two nominees. Full results are available on the web site.

Cape Breton

Jillian MacNeil, Sheldon Nathanson Barristers & Solicitors, Sydney

Diane L. McGrath, Nova Scotia Public Prosecution Service, Sydney

Central District

Frank E. DeMont, DeMont Law, New Glasgow

Kelly R. Mittelstadt, Burchell MacDougall, Truro.

Halifax District

R. Lester Jesudason, Blois, Nickerson & Bryson LLP

Sheree L. Conlon, Stewart McKelvey

Alonzo Wright, Nova Scotia Public Prosecution Service;

Nancy F. Barteaux, Barteaux Durnford

Southwestern District

Heidi Foshay Kimball, Kimball Brogan Law

Andrew S. Nickerson, Nickerson Jacquard Fraser, Yarmouth

The NSBS Council for 2015-2017 will consist of 21 members: President Jill Perry; R. Daren Baxter, first vice president; second VP Julia Cornish; 10 members elected and acclaimed in the judicial districts; three at-large members to still be elected; David Bartol of the Legal Services Division of the Departmen of Justice as the representative of the attorney general; Kim Brooks, the dean of the Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University; and three public representatives.

Two upcoming vacancies of the public representatives are expected to be filled by June 13. Applications were due yesterday and the NSBS’ governance and nominating committee will be doing interviews on April 17.




  • clawbies 2015
    clawbies 2014
  • clawbies 2013
    clawbies 2012
  • clawbies 2011
    clawbies 2010